A better use of my mirror

I used to share my apartment with a roommate.  Out of courtesy I tried to keep things as clean as possible for her and do my chores.  This included cleaning the bathroom and washing the nice, big mirror every other week.  But when she moved out, I had the mirror, and the bathroom, all to myself (what girl wouldn’t love this situation?!).  But a funny thing happened.  Instead of cleaning the mirror, I started writing on it.

We all stand in front of the mirror for some length of time in the morning and evening when we are getting ready to begin and end our days, but about a year ago I decided to redeem that time for my Christian walk.  That’s where writing on my mirror comes in.  I had heard a friend talking about how she used to write on her mirror with dry erase marker to cram for tests while she got ready in the morning, and I thought “Why don’t that with prayers?”

Ever since then it’s been a habit of mine to pull out a dry erase marker whenever I’m touched by a certain verse in the Bible, a prayer I hear in a meeting or read in a Christian book, a hymn I want to sing, or a particular burden God put on my heart for someone else.

Here are a few examples (please excuse the towels and awkward angles, I didn’t wanna get in the pics):

These are some verses from Philippians 3:12-14 and 2 Timothy 1:9.

They say “Not that I have already obtained or am already perfected, but I pursue, if even I may lay hold of that for which I also have been laid hold of by Christ Jesus.  Brothers, I do not account of myself to have laid hold; but one thing I do: Forgetting the things which are behind and stretching forward to the things which are before, I pursue toward the goal for the prize to which God in Christ Jesus has called me upward.”

“Who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works but according to His own purpose and grace, which was given to us in Christ Jesus before the times of the ages.”

This one is just a bunch of prayers I either heard or read that I wanted to apply to myself and my situation.

“Lord I want to live and walk in You.  Lord, I pray that You will be the good land to me in my experience, and that every aspect of my living may be in You.” – Life-Study of Joshua

“Make the sky in my being like awesome crystal.” – Ezekiel 1:22

“Lord, make me desperate to live You.” – Colossians 3:4

“Lord, keep me in the divine stream for the rest of my life!” – I don’t remember where I got this one, but I still like it.

This is a hymn I’ve sung many times with Christians on Campus.

It’s wonderful to start off the day singing “Draw me dear Lord, draw me today.  From everything else dear Lord, draw me away.”

It seems simple, but writing things like this on my mirror have really made a difference in my Christian life.  So instead and fretting over my how my hair looks or thinking over my failures for the day while brushing my teeth, the beginning and end of my days are spent singing and praying.  It’s a precious habit that I hope I will never give up.

3 Comments

Filed under Christian Life

3 responses to “A better use of my mirror

  1. What a wonderful idea!!! Thank you for sharing and I will follow your example 🙂

  2. uniquebeata

    yeah, I was inspired once upon looking at your mirror.

  3. Pingback: Ordinary Days | Ordinary Days

Leave a comment