Dinosaur Stop Motion

In a previous post I talked about using a stop motion app on my phone to make a video with my students.  Well, it looks like we’re going to do it after all (not King Kong vs. Pterodactyl, but something that goes along with our jungle theme).  Summer school is on hold for the holiday week, so it’ll have to wait, but I thought I would take a look at a couple of videos I made with some of my fourth graders with Autism this past school year.

Their classes were doing a stop motion project all together, but both of them were going to be gone when they were filming the video because we take our students to gymnastics once a week.  I didn’t want them to miss out on this awesome project, so I downloaded a free app called Stop Animator.  I had each kid draw their own scenery and tape it on the wall, as well as arrange the dinosaurs how ever they wanted for each picture.  It was difficult to explain to them what we were doing, and we could only take 20-30 pictures before they got impatient with the project, but the smiles on their faces were worth it.

Both of them watched their videos over and over and over and over and over again, and both of them showed their videos to their classes.  It was a great project and I can’t wait to do it again with the kids I have now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teacher Life

Leave a Reply

