Sometimes, parents just amaze me … and not in a good way

I have to say that I have really lucked out with my kids, parents, and aides for summer school.  As a whole I don’t have much to complain about, but one little girl’s mother really grinds my gears.

Every time this child comes to school she is filthy.  I mean F.I.L.T.H.Y.  There is stain upon stain on every piece of her outfit.  Stains of different ages on the same piece of clothing.  Holes in her skirts.  It’s just appalling.  She literally looks like she has been hanging out in a landfill on a rainy day.  It so, so sad and so, so infuriating.

I understand that laundry probably isn’t most people’s favorite chore or their favorite way to spent their free time, but every parent has a responsibility to their children are given the best chance to succeed in life, and sending your child to school in filthy clothing is only preparing them to fail.  It sends the wrong message to her typical and non-typical peers, as well as to her teachers.  I mean really, who wants to be friends with Pig Pen?  Who has high expectations for Pig Pen?  No one.  No one wants to hang out with him and no one thinks he can make something of himself.

Does this mother think that just because she has Down Syndrome she won’t notice that her clothes look disgusting?  This child is a super smart and super quick little girl who doesn’t let anyone get away with anything.  How is she going to feel when one day she suddenly looks around the room and realizes that hers are the only clothes with holes and stains.

All I want to do is go to Goodwill and buy this girl some new clothes, but I know they’ll just end up like all the rest.  Tattered and dirty.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teacher Life

Leave a Reply

