I did it!! No one died!! But one girl does cry blood…

Today was the first day of summer school and I accomplished my goal!  I ended with the same number of kids I started with!  Granted only four showed up and there are three adults in the room, but I still did it!

I got to work before all the kids got there and was setting up the crafts while the computer guy worked on getting one of my two laptops to work, when this mom walks in.  She said “Hi, I’m so and so’s mom.  I just wanted to tell you that she just had eye surgery and so if she gets upset and starts to cry she’ll have blood in her tears.”

 

EXCUUUUUUUUUUUUUSSSSEEE MEEEEEEE?!?!?!?!?!  What did you just say????  YOUR DAUGHTER CRIES BLOOD???  I just tried to put on a smile and be like “Oh, okay.  No problem.”  Thus, my second goal for the day: DO NOT, under any circumstances, make her cry, because tears of blood are the stuff of nightmares.

 

That was really the only significant event in the day.  Two of the kids that showed up are really calm and easy going and easy to have a conversation with, and the other two are …. not.  But there weren’t any fights or tantrums or tears of blood today.  A lot of that is probably due to the fact that I didn’t take any data on them or ask them to do any work.  I just wanted to get to know them so we did crafts and games.

 

Here’s how the animal stick things turned out.  I’ll have them put them in the jungle after I greet them.  I still need to add more stuff to the jungle, but you get the idea.  Notice how there’s only one gorilla.  I was the only person to make one.  Weird.  I did get one kid to make an imaginary animal, except he really just copied what was in my imagination and added two extra eyes, and a banana.  Still a victory in my book.

 

Oh, and I can’t get this song out of my head.  Enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Teacher Life

Leave a Reply

