I just met someone from Kazakhstan!!

I’m a huge social sciences nerd.  I just look at a map and I get all happy inside, so you can imagine how excited I got when I met someone from Kazakhstan.  Most people don’t even know it exists, much less that people actually live there (except, of course, for Borat).

http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&videoId=bestoftv/2012/04/30/exp-last-look.cnn

But as excited as I was to meet him, I quickly realized that his intention in introducing himself wasn’t casual conversation comparing and contrasting the economic, political, historical, and geographic features of the US and Kazakhstan.

He came over and sat down as I was working on my crafts.  I don’t even remember what the first thing was that he said to me, but I could tell he wasn’t a native of Oklahoma.  So I asked him where he was from and he told me Kazakhstan (btw, I will never not know how to spell Kazakhstan after I finish writing this post) and I was blown away.  I’m pretty sure my jaw was on the floor.

He said “I saw you sitting over here with your blond hair and I thought I wanted to talk to you.”  I didn’t think much of that.  Blond hair isn’t all too common in Asia, and I’ve met plenty of Chinese, Korean, and Japanese people who were also curious about my hair.  So I said “You like blond hair?”, and he replied “I like your blond hair.”  That’s when the alarms went off, but it was too late, he was asking me out on a date.

I tried to deflect the question, but he kept coming back to it – even after we established that I’m six inches taller than him and a year and a half older than him.  I think we would be the weirdest couple ever.

The smooth operator finally left after ten awkward minutes of rejection after rejection (I got the feeling he doesn’t get turned down very often).  But even the massive amount of awkwardness can’t take away from the fact that I MET SOMEONE FROM KAZAKHSTAN!!  Thus, it is my happy post for today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy Life

Leave a Reply

